IAGR launches gaming regulatory awards

IAGR, international association of gaming regulators

The International Association of Gaming Regulators (IAGR) has announced the launch of its inaugural awards program, which aims to recognize outstanding regulators “who are helping to drive the industry forward.”

“There has never been a greater need for gaming regulators to be innovative in their regulatory practice,” says Catherine Myers, IAGR Trustee and CEO of the Victorian Commission for Gambling and Liquor Regulation in Australia.

 IAGR will announce the award winners at a gala dinner as part of the IAGR2021 conference in Boston in September.

 An international judging panel will select winners from the following five categories:

  • International regulator of the year – recognising exemplary leadership and accomplishment in regulatory policy and practice
  • Regulatory excellence – recognising excellence in gaming policy and regulation
  • Regulatory innovation- recognising a new or innovative policy and regulatory approaches
  • Best regulatory campaign – recognising the most creative, compelling, and impactful responsible gambling/safer gambling communication campaign
  • Regulatory rising star – recognising an emerging public policy and regulatory leader

 The panel of confirmed judges include:

  • Ben Haden – UK Gambling Commission
  • Thulisizwe Johnson – Botswana Gambling Authority
  • Caroline Kongwa – National Gambling Board South Africa
  • Jason Lane – Jersey Gambling Commission
  • Catherine Myers – Victorian Commission for Gambling and Liquor Regulation (Australia)
  • Paul Newson – Senet Advisory (Australia)
  • Trudy Smit Quosai – Greo (Canada)
  • A representative from International Masters of Gaming Law (IMGL) – TBC